Complexity Manager Release 2019

Complexity Manager Release 2019

Complexity Manager Release 2019



Variant Management in times of digital change - as much data as necessary and as few as possible!

"Data is the new oil of the world economy," as we often read. But how much oil is necessary and how well does it flow to get product variance and production going smoothly in the sense of industry 4.0? Can the comparably "old" data of product variance simply be transferred to the new data world that is currently developing on the production side? This should at least be checked. A good support for this: The Complexity Manager in its new release CM 2019.

Some of the key questions about product complexity:

How can Variant Management be made fit for digital change?

It has never been boring in Variant Management, so this is not to be expected in these times of digital change: In addition to the product variants themselves, the use of data as a topic is consequently gaining in importance. The quality and quantity of product diversity data will be decisive for a successful transition to the "Industry 4.0 age". Only both together provide transparency and indication of the necessary extent of the scope to be automated in the production process.


    How many variants are necessary, how many are possible?

    The answer to this question is still essential. Of course, everything that is needed on the market should also be offered. However, the internal company processes around the order processing process do not have to be disproportionately complex. Market-specific requirements are initially described independently of the technical implementation in order to identify the maximum possible degrees of flexibility for the later development of components and their tools. This leads to two views of the product: The rather "solution-neutral" view of the market and the "solution-specific" view of the manufacturing company.


      How do you get an early market picture of the product requirements?

      For the rather solution-neutral view, the market requirements are included independently of the technical solution. The product features and their options are defined from the market's point of view and combination restrictions are derived. The resulting overview (Feature Tree) is supplemented by quantity forecasts or real sales. The result is an overview with variants that can be sold well and less well, so that concrete indications for the definition of equipment packages can be derived at an early stage.


        How can the number of part variants be determined before the actual development?

        The second view of the product establishes the connection between market requirements and technical implementation. In a first approximation it is assumed that the variants of the technical components are to be justified exclusively by the market requirements. According to this understanding, a component is only changed or newly developed if there are concrete market requirements behind it. If these are known, the number and volume of each future component variant can be determined with the help of experience from development.


          Which costs can be avoided at an early stage?

          In case of in-house production, you can calculate the investment requirement for tool costs, for example, because of the overview of variance in components (Variant Tree), derived in this way. In connection with the required quantity of the component variant, which is derived from the quantity forecasts or real sales of the final product, it also becomes clear in each individual case, which investments are worthwhile and which are not, based on the sales figures. If necessary, a standardization of variants appears to be an opportunity in order to reduce the investment requirement. In the case of a supplier production of components one can give clearly more concrete data to the necessary number of variants and the respective requirement quantity.


            What are the effects of new market requirements?

            As the market requirements are regarded as the main reason for the creation of variants here, the effects of changes in these requirements can also be simulated: If, for example, an additional power for Europe is required on the market, it is possible to derive directly, which components have to be newly developed or revised if this requirement is to be fulfilled. All components, whose variance is determined by power, are affected by this change. This also makes it possible to estimate the costs caused by new development or tool procurement very early.


              Where is the optimal variety with the lowest possible processing effort?

              The consideration of the product variants from a market and engineering point of view enables early variant planning. If the market view provides forecasts or real sales figures for the variants, the technical view provides information on how many different and identical components can be used to realize the product program. Most sales with the smallest number of different components represent an optimum of variant diversity. In the last 40 variant analysis projects carried out, almost 80% of total sales were on average achieved with 24% of all variants and 44% of all part numbers.


                What amount of data should be provided for the configurator?

                As the overwhelming majority of the analyses lead to the result, that more than 80% of the sales volume is achieved with about one third of the product variants, it is certainly advisable not to store all feasible and possible variants in the configurator. The programming of all variants for the configurator would be very time-consuming and therefore also very expensive and it is not even guaranteed that every programmed variant is demanded by the market. Instead, it is advisable to divide the product range into a configurable ("CTO") and an order-related ("ETO") area. The order-related area is not stored in the configurator, but is only technically developed to completion when a concrete customer order has been received. This fulfils the guiding principle: "As much data as necessary and as little as possible".


                  How flexible must the product architecture be, how static may it be?

                  More than ever, market requirements are subject to continuous change. Some change more or never, others very often. Since market requirements are the main reason for the variance of components here, it is also possible to deduce at a very early stage which components need to be adapted or changed more frequently. This must be taken into account when implementing market requirements on both the development and production sides. The flexibility required by the market must be implemented flexibly in the product architecture and production with justifiable effort.


                    Which variant is to be planned when?

                    Not every variant of a product family is demanded on the market at the same time. This also means that you do not have to offer all variants on the market immediately, but that you usually have to plan for this one after the other at intervals of months, if not even years. The requirements of the market also play a major role here, as they are exactly what are required at different points in time. New Cabriolets, for example, are mainly launched in spring, a limousine perhaps only in autumn before a small truck variant is added next spring. This also has an effect on the component variance, as some of it will only be needed at a later point in time. The Complexity Manager uses the life cycles of the individual final products to recalculate the point in time for the necessary procurement of suitable components. Thus also here again very early a concrete plan exists, when which variant with which components is to be considered.


                      What potential can be realized?

                      When planning variants, investment costs can be avoided or optimized by standardizing components through early recognition of product variants that are in low demand on the market and therefore components that are not required. A streamlining of product variants leads to permanent "maintenance costs" being saved. The order of scale is different for each component and variant. Therefore, there can never be just one answer to the question "What does a variant cost?" If, in addition, investments in tools are avoided in variant planning, the potential is in any case in the millions.


                        Summary from the point of view of the market

                        From the point of view of the market, it is important to first find a clear definition of the requirements that are to be formulated as solution-neutral as possible from the technical implementation. The option of "seat heating" in a car is the right wording. "Electric seat heating", on the other hand, would be the wrong choice, since the market only considers the "seat heating" function to be important, but not the fact that the manufacturer implements this with electrical energy. In summary, the Complexity Manager offers the following options for analysing and planning product variants from the market's point of view (s. right slide).


                          Summary from the point of view of technical implementation

                          With the procedure described, it is possible to plan the diversity of components before they are actually developed. This also enables the early recognition of potential savings, especially in the development and / or procurement of tools, machines, etc. A subsequent adjustment of variants of the components always makes sense, but in this case the investments have already been made. As the Complexity Manager enables early planning of the variance right down to the parts list, it also makes a considerable contribution to cost avoidance, as it helps to plan these investments in concrete terms.


                            Get in Touch

                            Michael Friedrich

                            Jörg Starkmann

                            Contact

Der Complexity Manager in der Version 2019

Der Complexity Manager in der Version 2019

Der Complexity Manager in der Version 2019



Variantenmanagement in Zeiten des digitalen Wandels – So viele Daten wie nötig und so wenig wie möglich!

„Daten sind das neue Öl der Weltwirtschaft“, wie man des Öfteren lesen darf. Doch wie viel Öl ist notwendig und wie gut fließt es, um Produktvarianz und Produktion im Sinne der Industrie 4.0 geschmeidig ans Laufen zu bringen? Können die vergleichsweise alten Daten der Produktvarianz in Qualität und Quantität einfach so in die neue Datenwelt übernommen werden, die sich auf der Produktionsseite gerade entwickelt? Das sollte zumindest überprüft werden. Ein Hilfsmittel dazu: Der Complexity Manager in seiner neuen Version CM 2019.

Einige der wesentlichen Fragestellungen zur Produktkomplexität:

Wie machen wir das Variantenmanagement fit für den digitalen Wandel?

Langweilig war es ja noch nie im Variantenmanagement, also ist das auch nicht in diesen Zeiten des digitalen Wandels zu erwarten: Neben den Produktvarianten selbst erhält konsequenterweise das Thema Daten einen erheblichen Zuwachs an Bedeutung. Qualität und Quantität der Daten der Produktvielfalt werden entscheidend sein für einen erfolgreichen Übergang in das „Industrie 4.0-Zeitalter“. Nur beides zusammen liefert Transparenz und Hinweise auf das notwendige Maß der zu automatisierenden Umfänge im Produktionsablauf.


    Wie viele Varianten sind nötig, wie viele sind möglich?

    Nach wie vor ist die Beantwortung dieser Frage essentiell. Alles, was am Markt benötigt wird, soll natürlich auch angeboten werden. Dafür müssen die firmeninternen Abläufe um den Auftragsabwicklungsprozess aber keineswegs unverhältnismäßig komplex sein. Marktspezifische Anforderungen werden zunächst unabhängig von der technischen Umsetzung beschrieben, um für die spätere Entwicklung von Komponenten und ihren Werkzeugen die maximal möglichen Freiheitsgrade zu erkennen. So entstehen zwei Sichten auf das Produkt: Die eher "lösungsneutrale" Sicht des Marktes und die "lösungsspezifische" Sicht des herstellenden Unternehmens.


      Wie gelangt man an ein frühzeitiges Marktbild zu den Produktanforderungen?

      Für die eher lösungsneutrale Sicht werden die Marktanforderungen unabhängig von der technischen Lösung aufgenommen. Die Produktmerkmale samt ihren Ausprägungen werden aus Sicht des Marktes definiert und Kombinationseinschränkungen abgeleitet. Die entstehende Übersicht (Merkmalbaum) wird um Stückzahlprognosen oder reelle Verkäufe ergänzt. Es entsteht eine Übersicht mit gut und weniger gut verkaufbaren Varianten, sodass auch frühzeitig konkrete Anhaltspunkte für die Definition von Ausstattungspaketen abgeleitet werden können.


        Wie kann man die Anzahl der Teilevarianten vor der eigentlichen Entwicklung bestimmen?

        Die zweite Sicht auf das Produkt stellt den Zusammenhang zwischen Marktanforderung und technischer Umsetzung her. In erster Näherung wird dabei angenommen, dass die Varianten der technischen Komponenten ausschließlich durch die Marktanforderungen zu begründen sind. Eine Komponente wird nach diesem Verständnis also nur dann verändert oder neu entwickelt, wenn konkrete Marktanforderungen dahinterstecken. Sind diese bekannt, lassen sich mit Hilfe der Erfahrung aus der Entwicklung Anzahl und Mengenbedarf der zukünftigen Komponentenvarianten bestimmen.


          Welche Kosten lassen sich frühzeitig vermeiden?

          Für die so abgeleitete Übersicht der Varianz an Komponenten (Variantenbaum) lässt sich im Falle einer Eigenfertigung der Bedarf an Investitionen für z.B. Werkzeugkosten ermitteln. Im Zusammenhang mit der Bedarfsmenge der Komponentenvariante, die aus den Stückzahlprognosen oder reellen Verkäufen abgeleitet wird, wird auch in jedem Einzelfall klar, welche Investitionen sich anhand der Verkaufszahlen lohnen und welche nicht. Ggf. bietet sich eine Vereinheitlichung von Varianten an, um den Investitionsbedarf zu senken. Im Falle einer Fremdfertigung von Komponenten kann man dem Zulieferer deutlich konkretere Angaben zur benötigen Anzahl an Varianten und der jeweiligen Bedarfsmenge machen.


            Welche Auswirkungen haben neue Marktanforderungen?

            Da die Marktanforderungen hier als Hauptgrund für die Entstehung von Varianten angesehen werden, lassen sich auch die Auswirkungen von Änderungen dieser Anforderungen simulieren: Wird am Markt beispielsweise eine weitere Leistung für Europa verlangt, so läßt sich direkt ableiten, welche Komponenten neu entwickelt oder überarbeitet werden müssen, wenn diese Anforderung bedient werden soll. Alle Komponenten, deren Varianz von der Leistung geprägt ist, sind von dieser Änderung betroffen. Damit lassen sich frühzeitig auch die Kosten abschätzen, die durch die Neuentwicklung, Werkzeugbeschaffung und ähnlichem verursacht werden.


              Wo liegt die optimale Vielfalt bei möglichst geringem Abwicklungsaufwand?

              Die Betrachtung der Produktvarianten aus Markt- und der damit gekoppelten Entwicklungssicht ermöglicht somit eine frühzeitige Variantenplanung. Liefert dabei die Marktsicht Prognosen oder reelle Verkaufszahlen der Varianten, liefert die technische Sicht die Information, mit wieviel verschiedenen und gleichen Komponenten das Produktprogramm realisiert werden kann. Die meisten Verkäufe mit der geringsten Anzahl an verschiedenen Komponenten stellen dabei ein Optimum der Variantenvielfalt dar. In den letzten 40 durchgeführten Projekten zur Variantenanalyse wurden knapp 80% des Gesamtabsatzes im Durchschnitt mit bereits 24% aller Varianten und 44% aller Teilenummern erzielt.


                Welche Datenmenge sollte man für den Konfigurator vorsehen?

                Da die überwältigende Mehrheit der Analysen zu dem Ergebnis führt, dass mit etwa einem Drittel der Produktvarianten mehr als 80% des Verkaufsvolumens erzielt werden, darf man sicher empfehlen, nicht alle machbaren und möglichen Varianten datentechnisch im Konfigurator zu hinterlegen. Die Programmierung aller Varianten für den Konfigurator wäre nämlich sehr aufwändig und damit auch sehr kostspielig und dabei ist auch noch nicht einmal garantiert, dass jede programmierte Variante überhaupt vom Markt gefordert wird. Es empfiehlt sich vielmehr, das Produktprogramm in einen konfigurierbaren ("CTO") und einen auftragsbezogenen ("ETO") Bereich zu unterteilen. Der auftragsbezogene Bereich wird dabei nicht im Konfigurator hinterlegt, sondern erst dann technisch zu Ende entwickelt, wenn wirklich ein konkreter Kundenauftrag dahintersteht. Das erfüllt den Leitsatz: "So viele Daten wie nötig und so wenig wie möglich"


                  Wie flexibel muss die Produktarchitektur sein, wie starr darf sie sein?

                  Marktanforderungen sind mehr denn je fortlaufend Änderungen unterworfen. Einige ändern sich so gut wie nie, andere wiederum sehr häufig. Da Marktanforderungen hier als Begründung für die Varianz an Komponenten im Vordergrund stehen, lässt sich auch sehr früh ableiten, welche Komponenten häufiger anzupassen oder zu ändern sind. Dies muss bei der entwicklungs- wie auch produktionsseitigen Umsetzung der Marktanforderungen berücksichtigt werden. Die vom Markt geforderte Flexibilität muss sich in der Produktarchitektur und der Produktion entsprechend flexibel mit vertretbarem Aufwand umsetzen lassen.


                    Welche Variante ist wann einzuplanen?

                    Nicht jede Variante einer Produktfamilie wird zum gleichen Zeitpunkt am Markt eingefordert. Das bedeutet auch, dass man nicht sofort alle Varianten am Markt anbieten muss, sondern dies meist nacheinander im Abstand von Monaten, wenn nicht sogar Jahren einzuplanen ist. Auch hier spielen die Anforderungen des Marktes eine große Rolle, da genau sie es sind, die zu unerschiedlichen Zeitpunkten verlangt werden. Neue Cabriolets werden zum Beispiel vorwiegend im Frühjahr auf den Markt gebracht, eine Limousine vielleicht erst im Herbst bevor im nächsten Frühjahr eine Kleinlaster-Variante hinzukommt. Auch dies hat Auswirkungen auf die Komponentenvarianz, da auch sie teilweise erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt benötigt wird. Der Complexity Manager berechnet aus den Lebenszyklen der einzelnen Endprodukte den Zeitpunkt für die notwendige Beschaffung der passenden Komponenten um. Somit besteht auch hier sehr frühzeitg ein konkreter Plan, wann welche Variante mit welchen Komponenten zu berücksichtigen ist.


                      Welche Potenziale lassen sich erschließen?

                      Bei der Variantenplanung lassen sich durch das frühzeitige Erkennen vom Markt schwach nachgefragter Produktvarianten und deswegen nicht benötigter Komponenten Investitionskosten vermeiden oder durch Vereinheitlichung von Komponenten optimieren. Eine Bereinigung von Produktvarianten führt dazu, dass dauernde „Pflegekosten“ eingespart werden können. Die Größenordnung ist für jede Komponente und Variante unterschiedlich. Auf die Frage „Was kostet eine Variante“, kann es daher auch nie nur eine Antwort geben. Werden in der Variantenplanung zudem auch noch Investitionen in Werkzeuge vermieden, gehen die Potenziale auf jeden Fall in die Millionenhöhe.


                        Zusammenfassung aus der Sicht des Marktes

                        Aus der Sicht des Marktes ist es wichtig, dass man zunächst eine saubere Definition der Anforderungen findet, die möglichst lösungsneutral von der technischen Umsetzung zu formulieren sind. So ist die Wahlmöglichkeit einer "Sitzheizung" in einem Auto die richtige Formulierung. "Elektrische Sitzheizung" dagegen wäre falsch gewählt, da dem Markt nur die Funktion "Sitz heizen" wichtig ist, nicht aber, dass der Hersteller das mit elektrischer Energie umsetzt. Zusammengefasst bietet der Complexity Manager aus Sicht des Marktes nebenstehende Möglichkeiten der Analyse und Planung von Produktvarianten.


                          Zusammenfassung aus der Sicht des technischen Realisierung

                          Mit der beschriebenen Vorgehensweise ist es bereits vor der eigentlichen Entwicklung von Komponenten möglich, ihre Vielfalt gezielt zu planen. Das ermöglicht auch das frühzeitige Erkennen von Einsparpotenzialen gerade in der Entwicklung und / oder Beschaffung von Werkzeugen, Maschinen etc. Eine nachträgliche Bereinigung von Varianten der Komponenten ist zwar auch stets sinnvoll, allerdings sind in diesem Fall die Investitionen bereits getätigt. Da der Complexity Manager die frühzeitige Planung der Varianz bis in die Stückliste hinein ermöglicht, trägt er auch erheblich zur Kostenvermeidung bei, da er hilft, gerade diese Investitionen konkret zu planen.


                            Ansprechpartner

                            Michael Friedrich

                            Kontakt